Holidays ~ salty roads

After a salty night sleeping in salty beds, we hit a salty road and salt was all over from that point on.

We went to see our salty sunrise in the middle of nowhere, nowhere salty of course.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

After spending some time just enjoying the quietness we went to have breakfast in another salty spot.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

After breakfast, we hit the salty road and went to find our own treasures in the holes. It was really fun!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
This is me!! taking a salty nap!!

Photobucket
our treasure!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we went to see a museum that was in an old hotel, made of salt, of course.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

It was pretty amazing!

Our final destination was Uyuni. In fact, all that salty area belongs to the salt flats known as Salar de Uyuni. It´s the biggest in the world.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
sad memories associated to this shot. I was taking pictures and a dog came out of nowhere (probably under the truck) and bit me.

Photobucket

We had our lunch there, but without the spelling mistakes

Photobucket

Finally, we went to the town, which was our final destination.

Photobucket

It was sort of sad, since it was time to say our goodbyes. Julian was going to Potosí, Tati was going to Salta, Erika and Javier to Rosario and me to Sucre.

We spent the last afternoon together. After that we hugged and kissed and promised to be in touch. Salty tears were rolling down our cheeks

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

It was time for me to take another bus. Sucre was waiting for me.

6 thoughts on “Holidays ~ salty roads

  1. Your photos are amazing! What a bizarre place and more so with a building and furniture made out of it!!! I have a feeling of sadness and isolation as I look at these. I am also very thirsty for some reason…….

    It is so sad about your experience with the dog! It makes the place seem a bit sinister.

    Those cacti are very cool!

    • Isolation. That´s a word that perfectly fits the scene. Because those towns were totally isolated. They used solar panels for electricity and they had enough just for a few hours. No phone, not even cell phones because there was no signal. And extreme poverty. I guess the salt was a blessing and that idea of making entire places out of salt and make the place a spot for tourism is what put some money in their pockets. This last place had 4 or 5 hotels, at least there was hot water. But you couldn´t drink water, it was not apt.
      Ah dogs, I used to love them now, after having been beatten by two with just some months difference, well, I cannot help being afraid of them.

  2. That landscape is like none I’ve ever seen! Wow! Yes, isolating and it really made me thirsty. I’m so sorry that you got bit! I love dogs but it is one of my fears when I’m out jogging.

    • Yes, it´s very singular … and yes, you dreamt of water LOL too much salt!! I used to love dogs and I was not afraid of them but now I cannot see a big dog near me without feeling uneasy. I hate that!! I tried to overcome the fear by walking dogs and by trying to play with them in the streets as I used to but I´m not doing well … yet? Hopefully!! because in a week time, I´m out again!!!! and there will be dogs …

    • In the past, people could spent the night in that hotel that now is a Museum. But you know how it is, peope were ruining the environment so they built other salty hotels in a town nearby (one of them is where I spent the night)

Leave a Reply

