Holidays ~ Sucre

I love meeting people when I travel. I´m in a new city or town hearing stories of other cities or towns, it´s like traveling to several places at the same time.

But I also love my moments of solitude, one day when I´m just on my own. And Sucre was my place of solitude.

After spending the night on the bus, I finally got to Sucre. It was very early in the morning, nobody to be seen in the streets. I took a taxi from the bus station to downtown Sucre, because there were no buses that early. I walked and walked trying to find a nice hotel. I needed a shower and a breakfast and some rest.

Photobucket

I had no plan for that day and the following. All I knew was that I had just two days before coming back to Salta in Argentina. And it was a long trip, 24 hours on a bus. So I tried to sleep well, relax, and enjoy the city.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sucre is very friendly and very beautiful. My favorite place for breakfast was an old colonial house that belonged to the German Community. They had an exchange program so it was a hectic place. Another favorite place in Sucre was the scenic lookout at the top of a hill. Hard to get there with those steep streets but totally worth it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

No favorite restaurant in two days but I tried different food at different places. And downtown Sucre with its colonial architecture and white houses and flowers was very pretty.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I mostly walked and walked around till it was time to leave and come back to my country. I had three days left. One was going to be spent on a bus, the other two in Salta.

Photobucket
Native protest

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

6 thoughts on “Holidays ~ Sucre

  1. Wow, Ellen! Amazing architecture, gorgeous landscapes and wonderful composition in these photos. Love seeing these through your eyes. Love the tree with the purple flowers. What is it? Do you know?

    • I don´t know the name of the tree but it was so beautiful !!! I couldn´t take my eyes of it. Sucre is a very pretty city, that is facing the problem of development since the new houses don´t match the colonial architecture and they are afraid of losing their identity.

  2. Excellent! Love reading about your travels and pics are gorgeous!!! The one after this I couldn’t find a place to comment. But the first pic looks just like Maui !!! Just beautiful!

    • Thanks Kel ! The one after this is the last one of the series. I had to hurry since I´m going on holidays again in … a week!!! Maui must be pretty amazing, I wish I could go some day!!! but in the meantime, I travel where you travel and you travel where I travel so both of us get a lot of traveling!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

