Holidays April 2011 ~ My days in the jungle

After my “airport adventure” I finally managed to get to the jungle!! I really don´t know how to start describing the experience.

Being in the jungle is very strange. Everything is foreign. Plants, animals, climate, sounds. It´s a challenging environment since you are not used to it. You need to observe, you need all your senses by your side.

The area is protected now and it´s known as Madidi National Park. We went to the Madidi by crossing the Beni river and going up the river Tuichi.

Photobucket

The lodge had just beds and the bathrooms were outside. We had water to shower but no electricity so we had to use our flashlights or candles.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We went for long walks with our guide. He was a native and knew the area pretty well but he was not a “guide” in the sense that he didn´t take care of the group as a trained one does. You can imagine that I wanted to take pictures so I stopped more than once. And then he was not there and I couldn´t see the path. I had to shout “hey, where are you, I can´t see you”.

We learnt a lot about plants mostly. Their medicinal uses and what part of the plant you needed for that purpose. We walked in silence since you need to hear the sounds of the jungle, you can´t ignore them. They give you the location of the animals for example. We knew that there was a herd of wild pigs that way. And it was pretty scary! so much so that I didn´t dare grab my camera. We stayed in silence, witnessed them and let them go!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

There were lots of ants, spiders, bees, mosquitoes of course and butterflies. They were pretty hard to get!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Funny webs

Photobucket

We also learnt how to make rings and necklaces out of seeds. It was pretty fun!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Our group was multicultural: three English girls, one guy from France and another guy from Switzerland and our guide from Bolivia or course. And me.

We had dinner with candles and then we just chatted or stayed out if the mosquitoes allowed it. We also went for walks at night.

We had to cross rivers on fallen trees and the girls practiced their skills in the lianas, but just for fun!!

Photobucket

It was a marvelous experience!! Later, I learnt that you could share some time in the native communities so I wrote down the web addresses for another time. It would have been pretty interesting to share some days with them (and practice my poor Quechua that consists of some words I still remember from a course I took some years ago).

We went back to Rurrenabaque since there was another area to explore.

14 thoughts on “Holidays April 2011 ~ My days in the jungle

  1. Wow! I love jungles. We have a similar mountain property that’s almost a jungle, but not quite. And down the mountain is a white sand beach. That’s the place I’ve always wanted to go home to. Your trip reminded me of it…

  2. What an exciting life you lead! If it weren’t for those darn Monday’s it would be pretty near perfect. 😉 Just lovely photos.

  3. Oh I love those pictures!! Well it seems like your lodging was primitive, but the sights and photos and things you learned were worth it!

Leave a Reply

