Returning to Milton St – good morning

Two facts: Summer is in the air and I`m living on Milton St.

One of the things I like the most is to be able to have breakfasts in my rooftop, looking up and seeing the sky and not tall buildings. It`s still what we call “bien barrio” which has not exact translation but it means something like “it`s still a neighborhood like in the old times, when the city had just a few skyscrapers and people knew who their neighbors were by their name”.

I leave the house and on my way to the train station I exchange “good-mornings” with everybody. Most people are walking their dogs or sweeping the sidewalk or watering the flowerbeds in their windows. It`s mostly retired people but there are some youngsters too. My new neighbors are in fact, my old neighbors since they`ve known me for more than 30 years, when I lived here in my 20´s and then when I visited my parents. Good-mornings sometimes come with a chit-chat that is another “trade mark” of “bien barrio”. People are curious about my returning to Milton St. and they want to know if I`m staying or I`m selling the house. I satisfy their curiosity , mmm sometimes.

So now and to go with the flow, GOOD MORNING people!! Enjoy your day!!

 

6 thoughts on “Returning to Milton St – good morning

Leave a Reply

